Comparison
Aldevere vs Lumiere Education
Lumiere and Aldevere both offer one-to-one research mentorship, but they differ in programme structure, matching, publication support, and how they frame the work for university applications. Here is a sourced comparison.
At a Glance
| Lumiere Education | Aldevere | |
|---|---|---|
| Format | One-to-one. Individual Research Program: 12 weeks, 9 mentor sessions. Premium Research & Publication: 15 sessions with publication support. Professor programme: 6 to 12 months, 30 sessions | One-to-one with a doctoral or postdoctoral researcher in the student's field: 60-minute sessions over eight weeks or more, spaced further apart in a longer programme, with the number of sessions stated in the written offer |
| Mentor level | "PhD fellow and post-doc" mentors; "Professors from Top 20 universities" on the professor programme; over 1,000 mentors | Doctoral and postdoctoral researchers, matched to the student's question. If no one in our network fits, we recruit someone who does |
| Designed before the first session | Not stated on Lumiere's site (checked 28 September 2026) | A reading path and project plan written for the student before the first session |
| Who is responsible besides the mentor | "Program oversight from Lumiere program manager"; sessions with a writing coach, and a publication specialist on premium programmes | An academic adviser, separate from the mentor, who looks after the student's progress and wellbeing from start to finish |
| What parents receive | Not stated on Lumiere's site (checked 28 September 2026) | The schedule before the first session, progress updates at set points and whenever they ask, and a debrief at the end |
| If the match is not working | Not stated on Lumiere's site (checked 28 September 2026) | We change the mentor |
| What the student holds at the end | A college-level academic paper; 3 post-baccalaureate credits and a digital transcript from UCSD Extended Studies on completion. A written evaluation or certificate is not stated | A student-authored essay, literature review or brief, typically 3,000 to 5,000 words; a presentation of the work; a written report covering strengths, next steps and evidence of growth; a recommendation for what comes next; and a certificate that says Completion only when every session was attended and the work submitted, verifiable online by anyone the student shows it to |
| Publication | Support for three rounds of journal submission on the premium programmes | Completed Research Scholar work can be submitted to The Aldevere Review, published only if it meets the editorial standard, with no fee. Publication is never promised |
| References | Not stated on the programme pages (checked 28 September 2026); a student quoted on the homepage mentions a mentor's recommendation | At the mentor's discretion. Mentors are glad to write one for a student who attended and took the work seriously |
| Applications | Global programme; Lumiere says most students are based in the US | Common App and UCAS alike |
| Price | Not published on Lumiere's site (checked 28 September 2026); it states $1.8m+ in financial aid awarded | $6,500 for Research Scholar, $4,500 for a Field Seminar, from $2,000 for Academic Essentials (a custom plan). One fee covers the whole programme, with no paid add-ons |
Lumiere cells read from its own programmes page and homepage on 28 September 2026; where a cell says not stated, those pages did not state it on that date. Aldevere cells are what every student receives. Confirm current details directly with each provider.
What Lumiere Offers
Lumiere Education is a US programme that matches high school students one-to-one with researchers from leading universities. It has a credible reputation and gives ambitious students access to academic mentors they would not otherwise reach.
Lumiere's Individual Research Program runs for twelve weeks with nine mentor sessions, and its programmes page states program oversight from a Lumiere program manager and sessions with a writing coach. Longer options add publication support, and students who complete a programme receive post-baccalaureate credit and a transcript through UC San Diego Extended Studies. Current tuition should be confirmed directly, because Lumiere publishes no figure and programme options can change.
For a student who values a larger established programme, a defined paper timeline, and optional publication or credit pathways, Lumiere is a credible choice.
What Aldevere Offers
Aldevere pairs each Research Scholar one-to-one with a doctoral or postdoctoral researcher in their field, in 60-minute sessions over eight weeks or more, spaced further apart in a longer programme. The programme is written for the student before the first session: a reading path and a project plan. If no one in our network fits the question, we recruit someone who does.
An academic adviser, separate from the mentor, looks after the student's progress and wellbeing from start to finish. Parents receive the schedule before the first session, updates at set points and whenever they ask, and a debrief at the end. If the match is not working, we change the mentor. The student writes every word; the mentor questions, teaches and gives feedback. Every programme ends with a written report, a recommendation for what comes next and a numbered certificate, and the work is framed for Common App and UCAS alike.
The fee is published: $6,500 for Research Scholar, covering the whole programme with no paid add-ons, confirmed in writing after the interview and before payment.
Where Aldevere May Fit Better
Written before the first session
A reading path and project plan exist before your child meets the mentor. Lumiere's pages do not state what is prepared before the programme begins.
A mentor for the question
Doctoral and postdoctoral researchers, matched to the student's question. If no one in our network fits, we recruit someone who does. Affiliations describe individual mentors and do not imply institutional endorsement.
Parents kept informed
The schedule before the first session, updates at set points and whenever you ask, and a debrief at the end. Lumiere's pages do not state what parents receive.
A new mentor if the match is not working
If the match is not working, we change the mentor. Lumiere's pages do not state what happens in that case.
A written report and a numbered certificate
Every programme ends with a written report on the work, a recommendation for what comes next, and a certificate that anyone the student shows it to, such as a university, can verify at aldevere.com/verify.
One fee, published, nothing added
$6,500 covers the whole Research Scholar programme, confirmed in writing before payment. Lumiere publishes no figure, so the comparison starts by asking for its total in writing.
When Each Makes Sense
Lumiere is a good fit if your child:
- Wants a larger, established global programme with a defined twelve-week paper timeline.
- Values an optional publication or academic-credit pathway.
- Wants a publication or academic-credit pathway built into the programme.
- Is comfortable confirming the current programme fee and inclusions directly.
Aldevere is the better fit if your child:
- Wants a doctoral or postdoctoral researcher found for their question, and a programme written before the first session.
- Has parents who want the schedule, updates and a debrief, and a stated answer to what happens if the match is not working.
- Is applying to selective US universities, UK universities, or both, and wants one project that works for all of them.
- Wants the fee known before applying, a written report and a numbered certificate at the end, and work that is provably their own.
The Bottom Line
Lumiere is a credible choice for students who want a larger global programme, a defined paper timeline, and optional publication or credit pathways.
If you want the programme written before it starts, a researcher found for the question, updates as a parent, a written report at the end, and the fee known before you apply, that is what Aldevere is for. A short interview establishes whether the fit is right.
Apply for an interviewSources and methodology
Last reviewed 28 September 2026. We compare current public programme information and avoid inferring admissions outcomes or institutional endorsement. Fees, formats, and availability can change; confirm them directly with each provider before enrolling.
Frequently Asked Questions
How is Aldevere different from Lumiere?
Both pair students one-to-one with doctoral researchers, and both give the student someone besides the mentor: Lumiere states program oversight from a program manager and sessions with a writing coach; Aldevere has an academic adviser who looks after progress and wellbeing from start to finish. The differences are what Lumiere's site does not state and Aldevere commits to for every student: the programme is written before the first session, parents receive the schedule, updates at set points and a debrief, the mentor is changed if the match is not working, and every programme ends with a written report and a numbered certificate. Lumiere publishes no fee; Aldevere's is $6,500 for Research Scholar, covering the whole programme.
Does Aldevere work for US applications, or just UK ones?
Both. Aldevere works with students applying through the Common App and UCAS. The project remains the same student-authored work, while the reflection and evidence used in each application are adapted to the different admissions contexts. No project guarantees admission.
How does Aldevere price its programmes?
Aldevere publishes its fees: Research Scholar is $6,500, a Field Seminar $4,500 and Academic Essentials, a custom plan, from $2,000, each covering the whole programme with no paid add-ons. The fee is confirmed in writing after the interview, before any payment.
Which is better for university applications?
It depends on the student, mentor match, programme scope, and intended application context. Lumiere offers publication-support options and eligibility for UC San Diego Extended Studies credit after successful completion. Aldevere focuses on a closely matched, student-authored project with explicit Common App and UCAS relevance. No programme can guarantee an admissions outcome.
Published fees
Get at least one number in writing
Lumiere does not publish a fee. Aldevere's are published: Research Scholar $6,500, Field Seminars $4,500, Academic Essentials from $2,000 (a custom plan), each covering the whole programme, and confirmed in writing after an interview before you are asked for anything.
- A fixed, published fee for Research Scholar and Field Seminars, not a "starting at" figure
- All-inclusive: no per-session charges, no paid add-ons to reach the final work
- The programme and project scope confirmed before you are asked for anything
- No obligation and no payment until that figure is in front of you